Guess Who is Now a Legal German Resident?!

The arrival of Tuesday meant it was time to take a break from being a tourist and get my German Residence permit. I`ve been dreading this for quite awhile now, pretty much since I found out I needed to apply for one. To receive a residence permit as a language student you have to show quite a few things:

– a completed residence permit form

– your passport, with extra passport style photos

– proof of health insurance (and the insurance must satisfy German legal standards)

– proof of school enrollment for a minimum number of  hours a week

– proof of enough funds to live off of while you are in Germany (or a sponsorship by friend or family member)

– proof of registration with the local  Einwohnermeldeamt office showing that you have a place to live in the Germany

I also brought with me a confirmation page showing that I had bought a ticket back to the U.S. so they wouldn`t think I was trying to stay past my permit period .

So that morning we woke up bright and early to head to the  Ausländerbehörde office in Munich, where we started off waiting in one line just to ask which line we needed to go to. Then we waited briefly in that one only to be told it was the wrong line. So we found the correct line, got a ticket, waited for our number to be called, and got my local registration completed. That was the easier part.

On to part two, going up several floors to wait in a second, much longer line. We were in that line for about an hour, it was very slow moving as many of the people didn’t have the right paperwork to proceed, one couple was even told security would be called on them if they did not leave, as they had spent an hour conversing/arguing with the department employees. Luckily, we had all the right paperwork and were quickly told we were ready for the next step, which was to present all the paperwork again for it to be inputted into their system. Finally I was approved and sent on my way to get my passport outfitted with my official residence permit sticker! I´m so happy that the process is finally over and that I am now a legal (temporary) German resident! Not only that, but I`m technically allowed to stay in Germany until the end of January, though I´ve already booked my ticket back home for Christmas.

Now it´s back to the fun stuff, including a local wine festival and driving around in a convertible enjoying the German countryside! Pictures to follow!

 

About mcbrayerer

I'm a Appalachian State graduate, living in Munich, Germany. I love to travel, try new foods and drink endless amounts of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

