Back in Bavaria!

It has been a long time (too long) since I wrote a post. But better late than never right?!

So to start, I am back in Germany, Munich to be exact. I was lucky enough to find a job at a small IT distributor in the city through a friend! Staring in December I spent a few lovely months at home enjoying time with my family before packing up my life again and heading back across the ocean to Bavaria. I’ve been back for about 3 months now, and have met lots of amazing new people (plus caught up with friends from last time) and done a little bit of traveling! Most of my traveling has been to places I’ve been before, like Bamberg, but I also made it to Prague (which will be a separate post).  Below are some of the highlights from the past few months!

Visiting Bamberg again before starting my job. I highly suggest stopping by this beautiful town if you ever get the chance!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Pictures from Carnival/Fasching, a big celebration in German-speaking countries where everyone dresses up in silly costumes and enjoys parades and street food. People really go all out for costumes, and the focus is more on amusing costumes than scary or revealing ones. My favourite costumes were three women who were dressed up in full “Gone with the Wind” style outfits, hoop skirts and all! Sadly I did not get a picture.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

As luck would have it, a fews days after I moved back to Munich my favorite Country artist, Eric Church, was touring Europe and stopped in the city! I went to the concert with two of my good friends and it was an absolute blast! I think it was the 6th time I’d seen him live and he never disappoints!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

St. Patrick’s Day rolled around and Munich hosted a surprisingly big parade as well as a fun after party!  There were some very stylish Kilts being sported around the city.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

While exploring the city one evening I stumbled upon a casual Mexican restaurant, which has become one of my favorite places to eat! They have delicious tacos that remind me of home!

IMG_4048

Another favourite spot of mine is a rooftop bar, which is always crammed, but offers a great view of the city and delicious hugos (a champagne drink usually served with elderberry flower syrup, mint and lime).

 10153017_10153953125835080_562583645_n

I spent a beautiful early spring afternoon exploring the Nymphenburg Palace grounds, which remind me of a scene out of Pride & Prejudice.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Spent another nice afternoon in the English Garden, one of my favorite places in the city! Can’t wait to have picnics there in the summer.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

One Saturday I spent several hours wandering through the biggest flea market I’ve ever seen! There was a lot of junk, but also some very cool & expensive pieces.

IMG_4149 IMG_4150

Took another trip to Bamberg to see Toby, this time with my lovely American friend! We did an informal tour of locals breweries one day, which was fun, and spent the next day wandering around like tourists.

IMG_41881907285_10201607205167573_2949220405404146001_n

 The last few months have really flown by, I can’t believe it’s already mid-May! The weather is finally warming up, and I’m looking forward to spending my weekends grilling out in the parks and biking through the city! More posts to come!

About mcbrayerer

I'm a Appalachian State graduate, living in Munich, Germany. I love to travel, try new foods and drink endless amounts of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back in Bavaria!

  1. Love it! Keep ’em coming!

  2. Karen Snyder says:

    So sorry I missed you when you were here. So Glad to hear that you are doing well.!

Leave a Reply

