The City of Music

One of the best things about living in the state of Bavaria is that there are a lot of holidays! I always try and take advantage of the extra days off and visit a new city. This time I went to Vienna with two of my favorite fellow expats!

Our journey there was a bit longer than anticipated due to traffic, and we took a “share ride” there in a big van, which slowed us down. But taking a share ride (found on sites like mitfahrgelegenheit & Blablacar) is a great way to save money and meet new people! I was a bit hesitant about using the service, especially when traveling alone, but I use it several times a month now and every experience has been good so far!

Anyways, we finally arrived at the apartment we rented for the weekend (thank you Airbnb) in the early evening, freshened up, and went to explore the city! We wandered around downtown and grabbed a tasty dinner at an Asian restaurant in the Naschtmarkt, a large food market in the centre of the city. 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES IMG_4356

 The weather was absolutely amazing, the first hot “summer” weather I’ve had since being abroad. We took advantage of the weather and sat along the river and watched the sunset before heading back to our flat.

 SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Later that night we went back to the river to sit at one of the many cute bars that line its banks. All the bars were filled with people enjoying the summer heat, but we found a table and took in the view, along with a cocktail or two. Then we decided to go to one the upscale hotels that had a beautiful bar & restaurant overlooking the city. The view from the floor-to-ceiling windows was one of the best I’ve seen in a long time.

 IMG_4369

The next day we treated ourselves to an extensive brunch buffet before hitting the city again. Our first stop was Schönbrunn Palace, where we spent time exploring the extensive grounds.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 Then we stopped at the famous Café Sacher to get their legendary Sacher-Torte. I have to say that I wasn’t a fan, but I always like to try new food (especially dessert), so it was worth the trip!

IMG_4377

We spent our evening walking around the Spittelberg area and the museum quarter, which are both lovely. Not so lovely was our “Mexican” food at dinner. Mexican food in Europe is very hit or miss, and sadly this was a miss. The Mexican food I’ve had in Munich is much better!

 SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

As the sun went down we stumbled upon a gorgeous rose garden in the center of the city, there were rows and rows of rose bushes making the air smell heavenly. I wish we could have had a chance to go back during the day, but that will have to wait for the next time I visit the city!

 SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

As we kept walking we realized there was an outdoor festival going on, complete with live music and lots of food stands! We sat down and enjoyed some upbeat music in front of one of their government buildings, which looked more like a church- and a beautifully lit one at that.

 SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

On our last day in the city we took a Ferris Wheel ride in the cute amusement park near the city center. The views were wonderful! The rest of our day was spent at a local public swimming pool, which was the perfect way to enjoy the hot weather! Public swimming pools (Schwimmbädern) are much nicer in Germany and Austria than the ones I’ve seen in the U.S., and they are very affordable!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES IMG_4398

Our last random stop was at an American style café which offered bagels filled with cheddar cheese, bacon & eggs- the perfect quick meal before grabbing a share ride back to Munich! What can I say, I’m a sucker for American-style breakfast foods, even when abroad!

I’m so glad I finally made it to Vienna. I think my next “new” city to visit will be Salzburg when my sister finally comes to visit!

IMG_4370

About mcbrayerer

I'm a Appalachian State graduate, living in Munich, Germany. I love to travel, try new foods and drink endless amounts of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The City of Music

  1. Vienna is a beautiful city. I’m glad you got to visit! And I agree, the Sacher torte is not to my liking either (too dry). But you almost have to taste it, just to say you did! I’m sure you and Jenna will also love Salzburg. It’s very picturesque!

  2. Karen says:

    Erin I am so glad you are getting to explore. I loved Vienna and Salzburg both.

Leave a Reply

